Me-Made May 2012 – Week 2

MMM12: Week 2

Top: Charlotte Rouse
Skirt:  Burda 1876 (me-made)
Shoes: Payless

This week’s me made item was a skirt that I made several years ago. I rarely ever wear it because despite liking skirts, I don’t like wearing them. I always feel so exposed. I was tugging and pulling all day, even with a slip on underneath. However, the slip I was wearing had a mind of its own, hiked up like I was getting ready to work on El Cajon Blvd. And oh dear, wearing high heel shoes, my feet wanted to kick me by the end of the day. My day that starts around 5:30am ended around 9pm. Let’s just say I walked around the front area of my office barefoot.  Lucky for me no one was up there except me, but let’s be serious, that would not have stop me if I wasn’t alone (unless we had visitors). I must admit, I did look cute despite the annoyance of it all. Classmates, coworkers, friends and even the cute guy on the train thought I looked nice on Wednesday. SCORE!!

I always feel awkward posing for pictures. I feel like a big dork. However, give me a runway and I’ll own it. Isn’t that weird/funny?

MMM12: 5/8

Does this scarf make my boobs look big? Oh! My boobs make my boobs look big!  Silly Strips

This week in search of things I can make real quick for this month, I came across a tutorial on how to make a T-shirt scarf at HelloGiggles. The site also has a video tutorial. It’s so simple, I made 3 in like 30 mins. It’s been a big hit. I stopped by Joann’s to purchase additional tees and embellishments. Might add to this scarf next week.

For next week, since I have no more finished garments, I plan to showcase a finished Sewaholic Renfrew top or a simple circle skirt that I have cut out that just needs the elastic band attached and the skirt hemmed. Sounds simple enough, right? Let’s hope. 🙂

In a few hours I will be skipping out of work and heading up to LA. The plan is to head straight to my favorite eating and drinking spot in Burbank, then probably crash. Friday, I’ll be going on a Warner Brothers studio tour, followed by heading downtown to go fabric shopping and hopefully catching up with some fellow sewing bloggers. Saturday, I will visit the Getty and do a movie picnic. Finally Sunday, head home but visit Portos (drooling here) before I leave the city of angels. I am super excited as well as tired. I’ll be taking the train up to LA, so I might be able to get a nap squeezed in.

I hope everyone has a good weekend.

4 thoughts on “Me-Made May 2012 – Week 2”

  1. Oh my, i’m so jealous. Would be so nice to join in with the fabric shopping and meeting fellow sewing enthusiasts! Have a great weekend!
    Thanks for the links to the tee necklace tutorial! I will definitely try that one. I used to walk around barefoot at my office too. And I usually wear tights/stocking with my skirts when i go out, even in summer. Unless its really really warm.

  2. no worries – you look just fine in the pictures…
    sounds like you have a fun weekend planned.
    🙂

Leave a comment