End of Year Wrap Up

That’s a laughable title, isn’t it? Considering that I didn’t sew much or blog much.

FS712w

I spent most of the beginning of the year working on my school project. You can see the post here, here and here. Working on the Jekyll and Hyde Outfit was a lot of work and I did learned  a lot. It was very challenging. I am glad that I got the chance to work on this project. I hope to do a similar project in the future.

VPLola11

I was able to squeeze in a my lovely Lola dress, while work working on the school project, along with a secret project that I hope one day to share with you all. I think the Lola is my favorite me-made garment ever. I am very proud of how it was made and it’s super cozy. Plus POCKETS!!!

After I finished the school project, I was completely wiped in regards to sewing. However, I was craving a garment for myself. I went to JoAnn’s and grabbed some lace fabric that had lining and 2 inch elastic band. All I had to do was sew up one seam to make a simple skirt. Instant gratification!!

wpid-imagejpeg_0.jpg
Unblogged: Closet Case File Nettie and simple skirt

This summer I was gifted with Closet Case File’s Nettie by the lovely Heather from Closet Case File Patterns. Instead of making a body suit or dress, I decided to be daring and I made a crop top. Even with a gut and back fat, I created a look that did not show those flaws. The trick is knowing your body, what to hide and what to show off. I do want to make more Nettie’s, I just need to adjust the shoulders in the pattern.

Oona Pants
Oona Pants

The last garment I made for myself was for Oonapalooza. These colorful drop-crotch pants were inspired by the Silk Romper Oona made this summer. I am one of the few Americans that actually like drop-crotch pants, so I thought it would be awesome to have my own pair. Especially after seeing Oona’s romper with a drop crotch. However, these pants only got worn once and I don’t like them on me. I think the main reason I don’t like them, is because they are too long. The foot part kept getting under my foot and so now the hem worn out. Yuck. I think I might turn this into a skirt one day.

After that, the only thing I started sewing was a remake of the Xmas gift from last year that did not fit my friend. It’s not finished tho, because I need to hem it. Embarrassing.

Most of my lack of sewing and blogging here has to do with how I felt this year. This was a bad year. Since I spent most my time at work and work was unpleasantly trying. I was in a real bad way most of the year. I spent a lot of time solo, which I am sure was not particular good for me. I really felt like walking out on my current life and starting a new one, again. This is not off the table, either. I know I really want to leave San Diego, but I am also thinking of leaving the US. I am really happy that 2014 will be over in a few hours.

DSCN1685

Okay now let’s talk about some positive things that happened this year. I went to NYC and got to hang out with a bunch of awesome people. Went to LA several times and also hung out with awesome people. I went to an amazing convention/epic concert. I made a local friend that shares my new-found love for Korean music & culture. I decided to start learning Korean (I need a of work).

I went to a Draping workshop taught by Karolyn Kiisel. Yup, the Karolyn Kiisel that’s behind Draping: The Complete Course. The workshop was really awesome. Karolyn is a great teacher, lovely person. I really hope she teaches another workshop in 2015.

wpid-20141122_151414.jpgDuring the day workshop, we had a demo, lunch and we got to drape two garments. We stuffed the dress forms to fit our own shape. I had to stuff my dressform a lot because I got a lot going on. LOL  It’s really interesting to go from Flat Patternmaking to Draping. I do enjoy Draping but I still REALLY enjoy Flat Patternmaking. Yeah, I am weird.

Other notable thing I did this year was getting into Skincare, mostly Asian Skincare. It started with falling in love with sheet masks. I saw them somewhere and thought they were the most amusing thing. I ordered a bunch and would send creepy Snapchats to my friends. Thinking about it now cracks me up. Surprisingly, I really like what the sheet mask did to my face afterwards. This pushed me into using toner, which did wonders for my complexion. Which ended in a spiral of what is my new skincare routine. I use about 5 – 8 items in my basic routine, I know it sounds crazy but my skin is brighter, complexion is more even than before and much, much more moisturizing. By no means, is my skin perfect but it has improved. I even started a beauty blog, but mostly focus on skincare.  If you are interested you can check it out here.

Well, that was my year pretty much. I really hope 2015 is better than 2014. I hope I gain my drive back and jump back on the sewing and patternmaking horse. I hope I get back into dancing in my kitchen after work and committing to learn Korean. Getting better skin and having fun with makeup would be awesome too. Finally, trying to figure out some important decisions in my life and moving on.

How was your 2014? Do you look forward to 2015? Do you have any goals for the new year?

Have an Excellent New Year!!!!

13 thoughts on “End of Year Wrap Up”

  1. Nice to see a blog post from you! I hope next year is much better. 2014 was hardcore.
    I havent sewn a thing all year. Have high hopes for next year…
    Good luck for this year.
    😊

    Btw i love drop-crotch pants!

  2. (((HUGS))) Good riddance to 2014 I say! It kicked my ass on many levels too. Drapping is not for me either…give me some French curves and paper any day. You crop top and skirt is so cute. I have yet to try and work that trend out with my fluff. Here’s to a much better 2015!!

    1. (((HUGS BACK)))
      Haha, there is something magical about curves, rulers paper and a pencil.
      I think the trick with people with bellies is to have a high waist, then you can play around with the hem of the top.
      Here here!!! I hope you have a better 2015 too.

  3. Happy New Year! I fell behind in sewing and blogging this year too. I was taking a class – all day Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5 -9 and I just couldn’t fit any sewing in. My new year’s resolution is to get into a regular schedule this year and sew, sew, sew and blog about it too.

  4. I feel ya on the not much sewing this past year. Your Lola looks awesome, I love that pattern. My stepdaughter is obsessed with all things Korean and wants to learn the language, too. She said Rosetta Stone doesn’t have good reviews for Korean specifically. Curious, what ways are you learning Korean?

    1. Aww Thanks. I want to make some more Lola, such a simple pattern.
      As for learning Korean I have several books, the Living Language Korean Series. I have Korean from Zero. Books for learning Hanguel (learn this first). Another source is TalktoMeinKorean.com. I pretty much only listen to Korean much now and recently got into dramas and tv shows. There are Youtubers teaching Korean too. Also check to see if there are local meetup groups or classes in your area. Oh and check out the Korean sub on reddit

      1. Awesome! I just showed her this and she got really excited. She’s been watching the dramas for a few years now. She said she wants to get the Living Language books so she’s happy to see you recommend that one! Thanks, Trice!!

Leave a Reply

