Quick and slightly productive

It would seem like I have not been doing any sewing since May, but this is not true. I have been working on a couple secret projects that are not ready to be revealed yet. I really can’t wait to reveal them to you.

Before I started working on my current secret project, I had started working on By Hand London’s Anna Dress. I am already in love with this dress, my dress, even though I have only made a muslin of the bodice. It’s the fabric that will in the end make this dress. Of course, I have to do research on how to use this fabric. Then, I will need to find a slip to wear under it. Who knew that full slips are hard to find and expensive?

A little while ago, I purchased a book called Fashionary. Let me tell you I love this book. I have an official place to sketch out my ideas and I don’t have to worry about drawing the human body. This is good, because I actually really need to get back into drawing and right now sketching out clothing is a great way for me to do that. I have some jackets, dresses and tops designed so far. I really wish I could share the drawings with everyone, but I have to wait until actually make up the garment. I am itching to share. I have in fact started drafting a pattern for one of the tops just before the Anna Dress appeared on my cutting table. I think I can actually make a mock-up when I get back to it.

In other news, I will be heading back to Philadelphia after 5+ years of being away, while I am on the East Coast, I will be spending half my time in NYC. So, if anyone is interested in meeting up, let me know. There are some awesome bloggers that are a must see, along with Mood. The last time I was at Mood, I did a quick walk around before I walked out. Too much fabric, my head was gonna exploded. This time I hope to go with life support. So yeah, let me know.

Hopefully, my next post will be a finished garment, until then. Ciao

 

11 thoughts on “Quick and slightly productive”

  1. Oooh, I’m looking forward to your Anna. You are gonna look amazing in it! And I’ve got the Fashionary on my amazon wishlist. it looks cool.

  2. Hello Latrice!!! Look Fwd To See Your Anna Dress, N All The secret Project, Sounds Yummy! I Must Get One of Those fashionary books Too! And… Nyc!!! Ahhhhhh How Badly I Wanttt To Visit the Garment district… EnjOy Your Trip Back To The.East.coast…

Leave a Reply

