Me-Made-May 2013: Week 3, 4 and 5 Wrap-up

Sorry, I have not been keeping up with my weekly Me-Made-May postings, but things have been a little crazy.  I hosted 2 parties in May, my photographer has been busy and on vacation, so I have been taking pictures myself or not. However, I still have been cranking out projects.

I took a break from making new items the 4th week to recover from the madness that was week 3. So what did I wear?

Week 3:

May 13

I decided after making two Sorbetto tops that I wanted to make another easy peasy top. Enters Maria Denmark Kirsten Kimono Tee. I cut out the XL and made no adjustments. The fit is overall a good fit and the fabric is a dream. The most challenging part was getting the neckline flat. Any tips?

Me-Made-May 2013: May 13

May 18

I did not wear the Shaner dress during the day but I wore it at my jobs Dinner Boat Cruise that I put together. I had plans to take pictures but that did not happen. It was a night of too much fun and not enough time.

Me-Made-May 2013: May 17th

Week 4:

May 23

Me made New Look 6510 pants. I made them a long time ago. Oddly they fit better with age. :/

Me-Made-May 2013: May 23 2013

I did not really wear any me made items the rest of the week except for a few hours I wore my first  McCall 6559 Maxi dress and the  first Colette Sorbetto top. Sorry no pictures

Week 5:

May 28

I finally finish this Sewaholic Renfrew top that I had started a while ago. The fabric was giving me such a hard time. Despite it being super comfy, it’s not really how I want it to be construction wise.
IMG_5244

Using View C, and my Y-FBA sloper for the pattern, I lengthen the bodice a little, opted out of the waist and sleeve bands and did a serged roll up hem. I also took my hip ruler and create the baseball jersey hem, shorter on the side seams.

IMG_5245

Despite me having so much problems with the shirt, I probably will still wear it a lot because it is comfy. However, I probably will no longer use the Y-FBA sloper I made for this shirt. I just would rather have a tighter fit and I just keep getting a relaxed to loose fit on these Renfrews.

May 30

05302013

I completed my birthday dress and thought it would be great to wear it to work. The dress was mostly finished on my birthday but there was some things that needed some fixing. Mainly the facing needed to not be popping out everywhere; neckline facing and armhole facing. It was not a cute look. Nope. So I hand stitch the facings down and tada, no more flapping facing. I also changed out the button and made the loop smaller. Then finally, I shorten the skirt hem about 3 inches.

May 31

Mmm13: May 31 2013

 

I wore an extra Me-Made item on the last day of May since I only wore one during the 4th week of May. I wore one of my favorite Renfrew tops with diagonal strips.

As much fun as it is to wear clothing I made myself. I will not miss photographing myself or others taking photos of me. I much rather be on the other side of the lens. I usually want to Photoshop the crap out of my photo, due to my uneven skin. Yeah, I know

 

Here is the Re-cap:

May1to13 May17to31

 

I hope everyone had a good May and I look forward to the exciting things happening in June.

13 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2013: Week 3, 4 and 5 Wrap-up”

  1. Your Hair Is Fab, And I Love The Stripey W Cowl Renfrew!!! I too Am Glad Tht I Wont Hv To TakePics Now May Is Done! Hubby Only Bck LatEr In D Day To Take Pics, N Cant Be Lugging Around Cam N Tripod When U Hv An Active Toddler To Chase After. Maybe When He Can Take Pics Mm Will Be Better For Me! haha

      1. He’s turning 3 in August! 🙂

        p/s: visiting to see how you are doing, hope you are well and enjoying summer… thankfully it’s a lil cooler the past day or 2… phew!

        1. He might have some time before he can safely take pictures for you.

          I am doing alright, thanks for checking in. Not a huge summer fan, so I tend to hide. How are you?
          I was thinking of visiting Portland next year for my next vacation, I will have to arrange a visit to see you.

      2. Oooh, Will Be Nice To See You Here In Seattle When U ComeUp North! Are U Scheduling It Around The Time Of The Sew Expo???? Was Looking For Your Email Add Here On Your Site ButMissed It… Uggh… Summer Not So much Fun In Apartments With No Aircond Like Ours…But Still, This Time Last Year We Were Still Stuck In Tiny Inn Searching For Apartments, So Must Be ThankfuL… Lol… 🙂 And Before Long, It Will Cool Down Again!

  2. Oh, you reminded me that I printed out the kimono tee pattern ages ago but never made it! Gotta give that one a try! I don’t have any advice about the neckline, though… that’s a common problem for me.

  3. My favourite is the dress and denim jacket look, with the sandals and the blue nails. Close runner ups long skirt with blue top and the chic little dress in black and white (dress? Oh, top and skirt) to the left of this in the recap..

  4. Hi Trice,
    I love the polka dot dress and the stripey renfrew. You are really good at picking fabulous fabrics to show off your patterns….

Leave a Reply

