MMM13: Week Two Round-up

This is a little late but HEY, what can I say.

BlockRenfrew

Wore on 5/8/13

I made a post awhile ago about this Renfrew, however I never photographed it while wearing it.  This is definitely one of my favorite shorts I own and made. Super comfy and a little different. The fit is great and I think it has a lot to do with the fact that the knit fabric is very stable.

BlockRenfrew02

And who does not love a nice cowl neck?
PolkadotSorbetto1

Wore on 5/10/13

Last Friday, was Sewing/Knitting/Crafting Space themed Me-Made-May day. I knew I was not going to get my friend to photograph me at home, so I came up with the idea to photograph at work. Sometimes, while I am at work I get ideas for designs. Sometimes I might sneak off and do some hand sewing  and then there is buying, reading blogs and getting other inspirations during my free periods at work. My photographer had a busy day, so I took my own picture being caught in a moment of inspiration.

PolkadotSorbetto2

Here is a better shot of me wearing my Sorbetto. I decided to go with a black jacket, because I am not too happy with the way the armhole came out. I can pinch out an inch of fabric to get a better fit.

PolkadotSorbetto01

I made some changes for this version:

  • Extended the length about 2 inches
  • Went down a several size in the shoulders and armhole
  • Shorten the length of the bust dart.
  • Use  packaged bias tape
  • Serged all the seams
  • Sleeveless

PolkadotSorbetto02

I think this is my favorite Sorbetto out of the two despite the armhole. Mainly because of the fabric. The fabric was very nice to work with even if it was starting to fray.

I think I will hold off making anymore Sorbettos for a while. Especially since my bodice block has a great fit and I should be able to make a simple top pattern for myself.

I can’t wait to share with you what I have wore and will be wearing this week.

How is your Me-Made-May going?

12 thoughts on “MMM13: Week Two Round-up”

    1. If you make it b&w it won’t be a complete. The one side is actually a light grey. 🙂
      A little trick I did was sew up a little strip of the two fabric to see where I felt comfortable with the front seam hitting.
      Can’t wait to see your version.

  1. I Love Your Color Blocking Trice, And I Adore the Polka Dot Sorbetto.. I Have This pure Silk Polka Dot Skirt From goodwill Waiting In Line TO Be Refashioned, MayBe Can Squeeze OuT A sorbetto From It 🙂 hehee

  2. I love your Renfre too. I actually emailed a link to your blog to Tasia a few months ago – and she emailed saying she would feature it sometime….I love the Sorbetto too.

Leave a Reply

