Promaballoona – The only Prom worth going to

SAM_0213
Last weekend, I went up to LA to attend the lovely Ms. Oona’s birthday prom, Promaballona, at Sew LA. It was a great time and I met a bunch of nice people. It was an adventure making it up to LA.
Of course last week had to be a busy week (this week too), but I was determined to get my dress made in time. Despite making this pattern 3 times before it had to be a pain in my behind. But I’ll get back into that a little later.

Let’s take a trip back to memory lane.

I never went to any of my high school proms and I honestly don’t regret it. I was a bit of a misfit in high school. I did not act like the majority of the students. I hung out mostly with my own little group of misfits. I was the token black girl in my group in a mostly black school.  I would get shit for not acting, dressing. talking like the other ‘popular’ black girls at my school, but I could not be bothered with conforming to the masses. I always marched to my own drum, still do to a degree. I have more fun that way. Not everyone at my school, outside of my group was a pain in my butt, but there was enough that I did not want to go to prom. I wasn’t asked either (I think), so honestly no reason to attend.

I did however, go to my college cotillion, which was a good time. I went with my best friend at the time, whom I was crazy in love with. I thought I looked very cute and I thought he was looking good up until you notice the footwear. Him and I tore up the dance floor that night. We stayed friends several years after and had a nasty break (friends the whole time). It’s amazing how you can out grow someone.

God to have that body again. And I thought I was fat, silliness.

Now back to present day…

I was planning to visit Oona before she went back to the East Coast and I happened to pick the weekend that she was going to celebrate her birthday. And so happened that Sew L.A. decided to throw her a party. I knew then that I HAD to make a promaballoona dress. I wanted to keep it as simple as possible. Did not want to have to do any fitting. So I decided to do a maxi dress and just find a fancy fabric to pair it up with. I found this slinky knit purple ombre fabric at Yardage Town.

Apparently, my brain escaped the building while working on this dress. I randomly clipped into the shoulder, so if you look closely you might see the black interfacing through the holes. Then I started sewing it a different way then I had intended. I was planning to have the seams closed, but the seams are opened. I put interfacing on the neckline and arms to keep the fabric from flipping over. When I got to the end of sewing the last side seam, I realized that the dress was not even, so I started to rip it to see what was going on and that’s when I got the idea to make a side slit.

3rd Maxi Dress

I took this picture right after I finished sewing the dress. This is my favorite picture of me in this dress. The shots of me at the party… MEH. I look too big in those pictures.

SAM_0208

Click to see Photos from Promaballoona.

Let me share with you a life lesson. Don’t party hard the night before you are to travel and don’t travel hung over. It’s not fun. However, I am pretty sure last weekend won’t be the last time, but I don’t advise it.

I made it to LA despite waking up about an hour before I was to catch my train. I felt bad for the girl who sat next me, since I did not have the time to shower. Magically, I had an enough energy to hang out with Oona a bit that Saturday evening.

Oona is now one of my favorite people in the world.  She is damn awesome, sweet and ridiculously talented person. I am really happy I met her (and Mr. Ruggy, who is just as sweet and awesome). I am now looking forward to visiting home, so I can travel up to NYC and hang out, since they are leaving the west coast.

So yes, Promaballoona, was the only prom worth going to for me. Awesome host(s), tasty drinks and cookies, nice guest and Oonaballona. Happy Birthday again, Oona.

6 thoughts on “Promaballoona – The only Prom worth going to”

  1. I’m so jealous you got to meet Oona! I need to go traveling around my homeland and meet everyone… Sigh.

    You look adorable! 🙂 And yes, I second that about not traveling while hung over… Ugh… It’s the pits.

    1. Yes, you should visit your homeland and if you happen to be in Southern California, let me know.

      Thanks.

      I think the worst part about traveling hung over was that I only got a few hours of sleep in. But still no fun.

  2. I was reading your blog and some of the stuff you’d mentioned about your school days rung a bell with me, it was like reading my own life story!!. Just like you, I was my own person at school and I wasn’t a part of the cliques at school – but that suited me fine. Then I was told that ‘I didn’t act black enough’ – whatever that means (I can’t believe another ‘sista’ told me that – what I learned from that is people have a bad habit of judging and pigeonholing other people, especially those with low self esteem – and it takes a strong person to resist nonsense that is sprouted by others, in order to stay ture to oneself). Thank heavens my parents taught me how to be a strong person!! :o)

    Apart from that, glad you had a fun time at the promaballoona!!

    1. As my dad said, I saw the bigger picture.

      My dreams were bigger and I didn’t want someone’s little dreams keep me in a trapped box. It’s kind of nice to know I was not alone in this experience, I think it makes a strong person stronger. More people should be strong and follow their hearts, even if its different from the masses.

      Thanks 🙂

  3. Um, can I just say: I HATE BLOGLOVIN. I switched all my google reader links over to it, and all my WordPress blogs, and I just thought you were taking a blogging break. And here you’ve been posting away.

    You know I loved hanging with you but I must say it again. You are a complete blast to be around and I hope you get out to NY soon!

    One good thing about bloglovin, now I have pleasant catching up to do while football is on tonight :))

    1. Sounds like Bloglovin needs a time out for bad behavior.
      Nope, not full radio silence on my end, but some.
      If my friend doesn’t end up having her wedding in next fall, I’ll try to come out sooner. Tho, fall is the best time of year to visit. Perhaps the spring. I will definitely keep you in the loop. Tell the Mister, hello.

Leave a Reply

