Version One of McCall’s 6559

This is the first version I made of the McCall’s 6559 Maxi Dress. It is my favorite. No headaches, nice fun print. I know I should take it in a little in the waist. Like I said in the last post, I cut this one out  in a size 18, except on the neckline, which I cut a size 22. I also need to hem it.

I used a narrow zigzag stitch for the seams, and then overlocked the edges. I overlocked the armholes and neckline, then fold it over and topstitched it down. I was going to use fold-over elastic, but decided that I think it would make the dress more causal than I would like.

The fabric I believe was purchased in LA at The Loft. At first I wasn’t sure about the fabric, because I thought it would cling and show all the lumps and bumps. However, it turned out to be a very nice fabric to work with and also wear. This dress was super comfortable. Perfect dress for the California life style. I would highly recommend this pattern, for something fast and easy. Just don’t a pick fabric that wants to be a jerk.

So, what’s next for me? That is a very good question. I really need to finish up my second Renfrew top and start working on the tailored jacket I plan to make for my good friend. Tho, it is very tempting to work on another maxi dress……

Yeah, don’t ask me about my Spring/Summer wardrobe. I actually want to redo the plan for it, because I am liking the wardrobe that I have been busting out now. It feels more Spring/Summer anyways.

Hope everyone had a good 4th of July.

11 thoughts on “Version One of McCall’s 6559”

  1. oh my gosh! What an awesome dress! It does wonders for your shape!

    I did have a great 4th of July and I hope you did too! I spent most of it indoors as it was rather hot here in Philly. Plus, I can’t damage my complexion with those strong UV rays (I’m super white).

    1. Thanks Maddie

      I do not miss the crazy hot summers in Philly. I do miss grabbing some Rita’s and splash around the fountains by the Art Museum.

Leave a Reply

