Run Lola Run

VPLola1

 

Finally, I jumped on-board the Victory Pattern’s Lola love train. Why on earth did I take so long? Yeah, I don’t know either.

You all know by now that I went to NYC last month. Once my trip was confirmed, I knew that I wanted to make a dress for that trip and I want to make sure I was going to be warm too. This dress, in this fabric was perfect for the job.

This fabric is an amazing, super cozy. I was completely warm during the cold NYC weather in this Lola dress. I believe the fabric is a sweater fleece, with stretch (YAY) that I purchased on my trek to San Francisco to meet the gorgeous Leila.

VPLola2

 

There isn’t much I really need to say about Lola that you probably don’t already know. Right?  This is indeed a super fast sew, especially if you have a serger. I sergered everything except for the top-stitching on the pockets and  stitching down the triangle. You can honestly make this dress in a day.

VPLola3

 

The next one I make, you can be sure there will be a next, I would like to make it in a lighter weight knit. That why I can wear it more often in SoCal’s warm weather. I think the next version I will go down in size. You can see that I have a lot of extra fabric in that upper back area. I would also like to make an adjustment in the sleeve/sleeve band. For some reason, the 3/4 sleeves bands are always too big, like in my Renfrew. Perhaps my arms are a lot smaller than the rest of my body suggests. I dunno.

VPLola10

 

Obviously, one of my favorite features about Lola is the pockets. They are so huge, I think I misplace my ring in one of the pockets. I DID find it before it ended up in the washer.

That’s where I put my phone!

If you want a fast, simple, yet cute dress, you should definitely check out Lola and make her up. The directions are pretty straight-forward and easy to follow. Here are some more pictures from the photo shoot. Mostly silliness.

VPLola5
Big pockets = more storage
VPLola6
Come on, get in there!!
VPLola8
I think I got this
VPLola9
Success! Mwahaha
VPLola11
Okay, let’s be serious now.
VPLola7
Nope, never mind!

I got caught by a coworker shortly after this picture. He said he sensed booty shoots were going down, which was true. There is a series of shoots of me touching my booty.

I am still working on my Jekyll and Hyde project for school. I think my teacher is finally starting to see my vision. She gave me a big hug the other day because she was happy I was in her class and that my project was so different from everyone else. Tonight I have class, and I plan to work on the drafting the facing for the jacket, then, cut out my top and sew it up. I also need to drop into JoAnn’s to find some fabric to test the fit on the pants. So much to do. The school is having a fashion show towards the end of May. I have to submit an application to be in it and hopefully, I get selected. I think my piece is interesting enough to be including. Wish me luck.

Okay, I am going to end this post here. Up next will be my NYC/L.A. trip post. It’s gotten so wordy, that I am about to delete it and start over. Okay, until next time.

32 thoughts on “Run Lola Run

  1. I love the dress, but I love the bonus pictures more! That looks so super cosy, and I love the seaming in it. I have the same problem with arms on patterns, perhaps it’s a bust related issue?

    1. Thank you. LOL, yeah had to add silliness. I have tried to abuse those big pockets.
      Maybe, a bust issue. If I were a B cup with the same measurements, I suspect that my arms would be large and probably fit better.

    1. LOL, Nice.. My “purse” is a messeger bag, so I usually sneak snacks that way, but that is a good idea. You just inspired an idea to have an inner pocket for storing credit cards and such.

  2. Love ThE Dress!!! tThe Pockets And Details Like The Princess Seam On The bodice Made It Extra Awesome. I just Made Me A Sweater Dress Too, But Something Possessed Me To Cut ThE Hem.AsymmetricallY And Too Short! Bahh!!!#

    Hope You Get Selected For The Fashion Show!! :)

  3. what an adorable comfy travel dress. I’m going to have to check it out, since I travel alot and am always looking something that is comfortable.

Leave a Reply

