Happy New Year! (What?)

 

Let me dust off the cowebs and dust that this blog has collected so far in 2014.

I know, I know!  I have been MIA for some time now, well mostly from blogging. I have been spotted on instagram and twitter. Oh and of course hanging out in real life. I am sure most of you have seen several of the amazing blog post from everyone that met up in NYC a few weekends ago.  I also went to a meet up this past weekend in L.A. for Christine Haynes Book Release Party. However, I will save those stories for another post.

So what have I been up to all this time. Well, despite my lack of presence here. I HAVE been sewing and a bit of pattern-making. I’ve made x-mas presents, tester patterns, slopers, hacks, sample patterns and the Victory’s Lola.

But today, I will share with you one of the x-mas presents I made, that I am very happy how it turned out. Most of the other stuff I can’t share with you right now, because either I didn’t like how they came out, they are not ready to be shared or I did not photograph them yet.

This last x-mas, I made blankets and a scarf, even a knit ponte pencil skirt as gifts. Of course, I can’t find the pictures for some of these, but that’s okay because I do have pictures of my favorite x-mas make.

 

DomHoodie1

 

 

Over Thanksgiving, I overheard my friend’s brother say that he would love to have a hooded sweater. Light bulb,  McCall’s M6614. This pattern is pretty easy to sew up. I went with View C, since I think he really wanted a pull-over. The only changed I made was with the sleeve. Which was the first sign of the downfall of this garment.  It was when I slipped my hand through the cuffs that I made, that I realized I had purchased the wrong fabric. Don’t get me wrong, I love this Sweater fleece fabric I purchased from JoAnn’s. Super cozy. BUT how the hell did I not notice there was no stretch. D’oh!

 

DomHoodie2

 

 

I finished the pull-over hoodie anyways and crossed my fingers that it would work out. X-mas day, my friend’s brother received his gift. LOVE IT. However, it was difficult to get on and 5′ too short. UGH! I told him that I would make him another one, longer and going up several sizes since he really loved the fabric. I purchased more fabric and that’s where the story gets put on hold.  Yes, I am a bad friend. Life has been insane tho.  So now, I have this really nice pull-over hoodie that has no owner. Super sad-face. It is a crime. Especially with those hidden front pockets.

DomHoodie3

 

Despite, the fact that this doesn’t fit the person that it was intended for. I really love the way it came out. This was my favorite make of 2013.

 

In case you did not know. I am taking an Advance Pattern-making class this Spring semester and we have to make our first collection. The collection is only 3 garments thankful, but kind of sad because I had this whole vision beforehand. My theme for my collection is Jekyll and Hyde meets Korean pop idol. Since I am making a 3-piece outfit, I have to translate my idea to one garment. My teacher kind of side-eyed my sketches but approved it anyways. I think I have 9 weeks left until the fashion show, where the garments will be displayed. Of course I am a bit behind. I am excited and nervous all at once. Very overwhelmed. Hopefully, I get this done in time. I really need to focus and buckle down my time, since my garments  are not simple. I do promise to share the excitement of it all with you all.

Next post should either be about the March meet-ups or my Lola. Until next time.

16 thoughts on “Happy New Year! (What?)

    • Thank you.

      Yes, working with knits can be a bit of a challenge, but it can also get you a super fast outfit. I do have a serger, which helps a lot. One day I will get my hands on a walking foot. Please don’t give up on working with knits. I can send you some links and book suggestions that might help.

  1. I Love.The.Hoodie!!! wWhat A GreAt Color Blocking Too. it’s.Been On My Must Do List FoR the Boys, But I Used The Sweater Fleece I Bought For Hubby And Made Me A.sweater Dress On The serger! Oopsie!

  2. Your hoodie is so cozy looking and very well made! I agree love the color blocking! it was great to meet you in LA, can’t wait to see your amazing outfits for your class!

Leave a Reply

