2013 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 9,400 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

AnyWHO, on with my own reflection of 2013.

Like every true artist I can find fault with everything I made and in true form say it is not finished. However, I will roll my eyes at that part of me and take a step back and allow myself to see the good in the stuff I have created over this year. Here are My top 5 Makes of 2013

1. SHANER DRESS

Shaner Dress

 Me-Made-May 2013: May 17th

Of course, I am going to be proud of this dress. This dress started from an idea on paper to a perfectly fit garment that I can wear. Not a model but ME, with all my glorious curves. Yes, they are glorious, whether it’s from the muscles I built from walking and lifting or fats from cookies and tasty pastries. GLORIOUS. I was uneasy about buying pink fabric, because YUCK, pink. However, I am a sucker for polka dots and I think it works great for a dress to wear to a wedding. There are some changes I would like to make to this dress: Deepen the neck curve because it is not supposed to look like a V-neck, take out some of the flare in the CF, add sleeves and use interfacing. D’oh!

2. Polka-dot Sorbetto

PolkadotSorbetto2

PolkadotSorbetto01

I really love this top. If I could wear it every day I would. First off it has polka dots. The fabric feels wonderful and I wished there was more of it. I am tempted to make another and a adjust the armhole but I will pass on that for the time being. REALLY LOVE THIS TOP.

3.  #Sewingdare Pillow Cases

IMG_5239

I had purchased some Ikea fabric and pillow forms a while back for my last apartment and just never got around to making covers for the forms. Gillian from Crafting a Rainbow gave me a sewing dare which was a good kick in the butt to take care of covering the ugly pillow forms on my couch. Heck, even my Man Friend likes them.

4.  Emery Dress

LatriceEmeryDress147

I didn’t actually expect to like this dress since I am not really a retro/vintage kind of girl. More of a comfy, modern, wannabe futuristic kind of girl. I have actually wore this dress outside of a photo shoot. I wore this dress for Xmas and got some compliments. I am thinking about wearing it for a party next week. I also might make another one and do a much-needed FBA . This is a great pattern, simple and allows room for your own personal touches. Love it.

5. Black/Blue Sugar Plum

IMG_5315

This year I made 2 Sugar Plum dress from Lolita Pattern and this one is my favorite. I made some fitting adjustments that makes me happy. My favorite thing about this dress is that it looks like a two piece. Which is awesome. I also like this version more because it has a shorter hem. Not that I like showing off my legs, but fitted knit skirts look better on me above the knees or to the ankles.

SUMMARY

This year was a pretty decent year. I gained some new sewing techniques, I did a lot of designing (Xmas put them on hold), I lost some friends and made awesome new ones (sadly none in SD, but LA is not far), got to meet some sewing heroes, and participate more in our little community.

Since I did not accomplish two of the main things I had plan to do this year, I am going to keep my goals for this year simple.

My Goal for 2014 is to create more. This is simple enough and regardless of what I do, I can make this happen.

Do you have  goals for 2014?

I hope everyone has a Happy New Year and I look forward to spending 2014 with you!

2 thoughts on “2013 in review

Leave a Reply

