Sew Red October

mccall5661a

Yeah I know, it is not October anymore, we have moved on to November. But I am allow to hold on a little bit to October, it is my favorite month. Except for the allergy part.

I did finish this blouse in October, but did not get to photograph it until November. The interesting part is that I started this blouse back in May 2011. I think time ran out, this was my second garment of the semester. The cool thing was when I decided to work on it again, all the tissue fitting/adjustments and cutting the pieces out were done. Tho, I do think i was supposed to do a fabric fitting. Oh well.

mccall5661e

So the pattern I am using is McCall’s M5661. I cut out a size 16 and did a 3/4″ FBA then I lowered the FBA dart 1.25″. I ended up moving that dart to the neck pleats. I also did a sway back and made the seam allowance 1″. Beside the fit adjustments I made this pattern without a belt and I went with snaps instead of button/holes. I used pearl snaps for the pattern and kind of aligned it with the guide. Since this was my first time installing snap, they might not be perfectly in line. I really don’t like making machine buttonholes, so hence the snaps.

mccall5661c

My favorite part of this top is the sleeves. I love cool sleeve treatments. Even puffy sleeves. It was fun making these sleeves. I think everyone should try a hand at fun sleeves.

mccall5661b

My least favorite things about this shirt are the silly front facing, the pool above my bust and that I can hulk out a little in this top.  If I bend over or flex my back, the second snap unleashes. I feel like Bruce Banner (The Hulk). So this top will be worn on an easy movement day, which actually doesn’t exist. HA.  Okay, more like not in heavy rotation unless I want to show off my upper back muscles.

Now for a little silliness. I wasn’t too much in the mood for taking picture, plus I was heading up to L.A. in a few hours so I had to be quick. So most of my pictures are side views. Did I mention I forgot to pack my shoes. I am wearing running sneakers? Yeah, I was kind of worn out.

mccall5661

mccall5661d

I have decided that I am going to try to complete an UFO in my collection each month until they are gone. This does not include stuff that I have no interest in anymore. It happens. This month, I am planning to finish my Sewaholic Minoru Jacket. Does anyone remember that. Yeah, didn’t think so. Lol

I also have some exciting new projects underway, so stay tuned.

24 thoughts on “Sew Red October

  1. I LOVE that last picture of you – and red is most certainly your colour! The shot of your back doesn’t seem tight or strained at all, I think you must have some prissy snaps, because the fit looks awesome. Perhaps some reinforcing hooks and eyes could help?

    1. Lol, the one of me amusing my photographer.
      Might be the snaps though they do take a bit of energy for me to get them apart. I kinda of have muscular back. I have some tasteful art photos of my back and most people thinks it’s a guys back. Then again, that button might be a little to far over, the fabric was shifting while I was trying to install tho sucks.

  2. I like those sleeves too! They remind me of a flower. The front facing is interesting – maybe this pattern works best with a drapey fabric. I was just thinking that 2013 is nearly over and I have stuff I’ve made that I haven’t blogged about. I hope to catch up before the year’s over. Good luck with your UFOs!

  3. I like this dress on you. I have this pattern too and have made this top. I don’t like the back buttons because you need to have someone button you up and out. For subsequent looks, I used a zipper on the side. It seems to help

  4. Holy Moly! You look HOT in red!! I’m also a fan of those sleeves! What a great pattern! And, you know, we all have to Hulk out a little sometimes, so I say wear the top as often as you want. Imagine your co-workers faces when they come to you with annoying problems and you just start flexing your back muscles and they hear that “POP”!! Ahhh… priceless…

    1. I think I just turned pink. Thanks
      Those sleeves are the main reason I got this pattern, they are awesome and super easy. I recently started pinning sleeve treatments… Must make my sleeve block soon. It’s gonna be a sleeve party.
      LOL, I think they would have a heart attack, the guys already know not to mess with me. Tho I should do that to my one co-worker/pal, he likes to test me.

  5. I love those sleeves too and I love red on you :) Kudos to you for giving snaps a try and they look pretty good to me, I’ve never tried using them before so they’ll definitely have to be something I try at some stage.

Leave a Reply

