Fabric Chat (NYC)

So as promised, I am sharing with you my New York City fabric scores. In no particular order, here goes:

Everything is silk unless otherwise noted.

blue-lace
Lovely Navy lace that really wanted to come home with me

I am thinking of turning the blue lace into a self-draft pencil skirt. I have my own sloper with my measurements, which will make it easy for me to make into a pencil skirt.

blueleaf
The detail is hard to photograph, but it is really nice

This is some kind of light weight cotton with interesting  a leaf details. Not really sure what I should make with this. Thought? This could be an Anna, maybe?

redleaf
More left prints

I really love this fabric. I  am pretty sure this should be a long sleeve blouse.

purplecircles
Has a lovely touch

This fabric is the fabric that was going to replace the specific fabric I was looking for, so now it can be anything.

fromRenata
Gifted to me

So this fabric, I did not actually get in NYC but I got it on my return back to San Diego, from my friend who I ended up Loft/Pet-sitting for the day I got back into town. It’s only a yard, so I might make it into a lining for a bag or something. What should I do with it?

Okay, now for the main event.  So a while back I saw somewhere this blouse that had this flying bird design. I searched high and low for the fabric. No luck. I even seen the shirt from RTW stores floating around the real world. In NYC, while I was in one of the stores looking for this fabric, the one girl helping had the print I wanted. She said she got it from H&M or Forever 21. I gave her mad side-eye when she was not looking (she was helping us btw, had to be polite). So yeah, this is the lovely fabric that I ended up buying.

sheerbirds2
My special fabric

Sure this fabric is sheer, but come on. Too Yummy to care

sheerbirds
So sheer, you can see the lines in my hand.
sheerbirds3
Birds birds flying everywhere

So what do I plan to make it into? Yup, Pattern Runway‘s Pussy Bow Blouse. Too cute, if I may say so.

PRPBB
Pussy Bow Blouse by Pattern Runway

Now, it is time to share with you the fabric that I fell in love with at first sight.

ltgreywool
Wool from Italy

Isn’t it just gorgeous? Don’t you want to wrap yourself in it. I want to wrap myself in it everyday.

ltgreywool2

Someone ask if I am making dress, but if I make it into a dress I can’t wear it everyday. So I am thinking of making a hoodie or perhaps a pullover sweater. Not sure what will be better. Hoodie or Sweater?

ltgreywool3

So Yummy.

7 thoughts on “Fabric Chat (NYC)

    1. Ah, you must have missed my NYC posts (P.S. I Love You). I only found receipts for Mood, Chic Fabric and Fabric for Less. There is another store but I don’t know the name. Please realize I was enjoying my time, and letting the locals take me around to the tons of stores in the district, that it didn’t cross my mind to make note. Heck, I forgot to take pictures for most of my trip. The Bird and Wool, did come from Mood.

  1. Amazing score of fabric! I realized this morning that I hadn’t been to your blog in awhile so I had to drop in. I don’t always comment but I always read this blog – it is one of my favourites.

    1. I am glad I checked my Spam folder. I think my blog is upset you did not visit in awhile and Spammed you. Craziness.
      You do always comment, so that’s kind of weird. :-) Aww that is so sweet. Thanks for making my day.

Leave a Reply

