My own Croquis

After seeing them pop up all over the blogsphere and it being part of the Sew Colette Sew Along, I made my own croquis. I had my photograph taken in class since we were already tracing our figure, our face and fitting a gingham shell. Turns out I am a pear-shape with a round face. I wore a camisole and some tights, which was kind of uncomfortable for me. I can be so modest at times, it is really funny.

I started using Lladybird’s method to make the croquis in Photoshop (she used Gimp). However, the actually tracing I used the Pen tool to create a path and then stroked the path (does that sound a little dirty?). I think the pen tool is a lot easier and quicker, especially if you don’t have a tablet to trace your outline. Here is a good tutorial on using the Pen tool in Photoshop.

How brave do you have to be to post your croquis online? Mines was a little bit of a slap in the face for me. I was ready to do some serious magazine style editing. I was not really shocked, because I know my curvy. but I was a little surprised that I am thicker than I thought. The camera adds ten pounds right? I guess it explains why I am not really a fan of tight clothing. Why I love flared jeans. Why I really hate being in front of the camera

My knits teacher gave us some handouts that tells us what looks best with our body shape. I’ll try to create a wardrobe that will be most flattering for my body. I will also breaking some of those rules because 1) I love layers and 2) I love military fashion styles and double-breasted rocks my socks. It will be very interesting to dress my croquis up. Wouldn’t it be fun to make new designs on my croquis? I am going to make some print outs and draw on top of my croquis. Which reminds me, I really need to get some binders.

Oh, I purchase 2 more sewing related books. They are for my tailoring class. The first book is Tailored Fashion Design by Pamela Powell

And the second book is Fitting & Pattern Alteration: Multi-Method Approach by Elizabeth G. Liechy, Della N. Pottberg and Judith A. Rasband.

I have no opinion about the two book at the moment. I purchased them for tailoring class. I started reading Tailored Fashion Design last night. It seems like it would be an interesting book. This book came with two jacket blocks, one for female the other for male. The Fitting book should be useful since it has industry methods and I am thinking of eventually taking my sewing to the professional stage. It would be nice to make money doing something I enjoy that also still has room for challenges.

Is anyone else going up to the Colette Pattern Book Party & Signing? Right now, I am a yes at the moment. Hopefully I didn’t agree to anything else that weekend.

Well off to another busy weekend. A nap might have to come first tho. Followed by drinking. ;-)

3 thoughts on “My own Croquis

  1. Your Croquis is Great – you’re lucky to be so well proportioned, top & bottom. (& thanks for the Photoshop Pen tool tip)

    I was going to make my Croquis last week, but still haven’t gotten around to it. I will soon, though. I already know I’m a triangle & my Croquis will prove it. LOL!

Leave a Reply

